Your first day at school?

A few weeks ago I wrote on my own blog about my first experience of going to school in London. It has gone down pretty well, (lots of follow-up comments,) so it occurs to me that we might collect and publish similar memories from our community, no matter where you went to school. Or perhaps your children went to school here?

Here’s an excerpt from my story, describing my first day at Fryent Primary, NW9:

I am sitting at a desk in a room with a lot of other kids, many of whom are crying, and I am wondering why they are upset. The room has a blackboard at the front and the walls are decorated with brightly coloured pictures. Out of the windows I see a field, with houses in the distance. On each desk is a slate, in a wooden frame, with a kind of pencil made of stone or something. Some kids seem to know what these are for, and are using the strange pencils to scribble on the slates.

A nice lady stands at the front and is talking to us and showing us how  to draw on the slates. Pretty soon I notice that one boy is hiding his slate as he scratches away, occasionally looking round to see if we are watching him. Then he stops and holds up his slate, saying something like “See, I can do real writing. If you can’t do real writing you’d better learn fast or you’ll get the cane.” I am not convinced. After all, I have seen the real thing, and he’s an idiot anyway who I recognise from the prefab estate.

If you would like to tell your story here, please send it by email, peterdewrance@googlemail.com, or as a comment to this post, or via the Get in Touch! form.

Leave a Reply

